Looking back over ‘the busy months’

I was talking to another community minded person the other day and she said to me ‘wait until the season is over and then we can talk’. It does seem to me, from what little experience i am gaining, that running an okiya will mean a flurry of activity from cherry blossom festival til the end of summer. Better weather means more smiling faces out and about looking to do things I guess šŸ™‚

So that means… its blogging time!
First lets look at our April 2013 event – The Cherry Blossom festival!

We were so lucky with the weather this year, it was warm, sunny and perfect for a glass of beer on the lawn whilst watching one’s nearest and dearest don a bit of silk in praise of the blossom! Hachitsuki-san and I dressed people up whilst Misha-chan and Alicia-chan helped people pick obi and kimono that they liked.

2013-04-20 13.46.20Ā 400575_523094847753834_446168457_n
Then it was time to have some pictures taken under the blossoms… I had been worried that they wouldn’t be out in time – we had had such a cold and long winter. As it was our cherry blossoms this year were very young – a different feel from the scattering ones we had last year. The cherry blossom is an important symbol in Japan because it demonstrates how we should take pleasure in the moment as all things are changing.

2013-04-20 12.48.01 2013-04-20 12.49.22
I had so much fun meeting this lovely young lady – I can’t remember her name now but we had quite an afternoon of it.. with plenty of time for chat, exuberance (note the little lad romeo who wandered up to me and exploded with some intelligible form of enthusiasm at one point) and time for a dance performance too!59630_523093784420607_403914083_nĀ 381995_523093917753927_2040750109_n
Just before I started to dance my grandmother happened to turn up – she didn’t know I was going to be there she was just by chance visiting the garden that day :-p So I got the chance to dance for her… My family don’t really join in much with what I do, even though they live close, so it was nice to make the offering of dance to her – but also I’ll admit to prove to her a little of what I do. Without showing off I want people to see I am serious about my art and path as geisha… its a delicate balance – an ‘iki’?? šŸ™‚

305743_523095131087139_1145591_n
Misha-chan and Alicia-chan with their daisies under the cherry trees near The White Hart bar and restaurant šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

